Reviews and Feedback from our Guests

We welcome all of our guests to leave reviews and feedback after their stay with us at Hilden Lodge. Many of our guests have returned numerous times because of the first rate service, friendly atmosphere and fabulous food.

Here is a selection of our recent reviews:

Tripadvisor: June 2014  We stayed at hilden lodge on the 29th of May, we were attending the Cheltenham sales. The rooms were extremely comfortable, all our party passed on our compliments to David on our excellent evening meal and morning breakfast. We would highly recommend the hilden lodge for any future stay,and we appreciated the excellent service provided by David and Sally.

Tripadvisor: May 2014 “Perfect!”My wife and I had a delightful stay at Hilden Lodge over what was a very busy weekend due to the Cheltenham Jazz Festival. It is perfectly located for easy access and for getting into town but is in a very peaceful location. The hotel is tastefully decorated with good attention to detail which is testament to the efforts of the owners who told me that they have only been there for one month. Each room is individually named and ours was very comfortable; a king size bed, ensuite with bath and shower, beverages and flatscreen tv.
There is a restaurant for evening meals and small bar which we didn’t use on the night of our stay but looked nice. We had our breakfast in the restaurant the following morning, which was wonderful. There is a good selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt, etc whilst your order is taken for a variety of cooked breakfasts, which are freshly cooked to order.
I cannot fault any aspect of our stay and would certainly stay there again when next in Cheltenham. It is worth noting that you can get a better rate if you book directly with the hotel. Fully recommended.

Tripadvisor: May 2014 “Lovely warm welcome, beautiful rooms and amazing breakfast”We escaped the first night in our new home and left the boxes unpacked in favour of some R & R. We were not disappointed. Sally made us feel so welcome and our room did not disappoint. As we were very new to Cheltenham she gave us valuable information on local amenities which was very helpful. Breakfast next morning was delicious, plenty of choice and a beautifully cooked English breakfast. I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family when they come to visit.

Tripadvisor: April 2014 “Great Stay”Stayed here whilst on business. The evening meal was excellent and great vfm. Owners extremely helpful and accommodating. Room was very comfortable. Convenient for the Cotswold villages with the bonus of good cycling.

Tripadvisor: April 2014 “Brilliant”Stayed at the Hilden Lodge for a wedding at the Frogmill Inn in Andoversford. The owners were happy for us to have an early check in, there was parking on site and the room was clean and modern, with a very good en suite.There was a wide choice of breakfasts on the Sunday morning, I had the full english and my girlfriend had the Eggs Benedict Florentine which were both very good indeed. There were also the other usual options of cereals, yoghurts, juices teas and coffees available.

Tripadvisor: April 2014 “Fantastic Owners”You will get a very very warm welcome at The Hilden Lodge. From the moment we arrived we were given 1st class service. Phoning taxis, helping us get directions, friendly service at the cosy bar…They go way beyond the norm. The place is spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and excellent value for money. The breakfast was truly outstanding. Will certainly be returning.

Tripadvisor: April 2014 “Fabulous Stay Had a lovely stay, the hosts were warm and friendly and the food was excellent. Beautifully clean and decor was of a high standard. We would not stay elsewhere in the Cheltenham area.I would recommend this place to anyone I knew was staying in the vicinity.

 Tripadvisor: 7 October 2013 “Super b and b We were in Cheltenham for a birthday party and chose Hilden Lodge because it was close to our friend house in Charlton Kings. It was a spotlessly clean,comfortable and welcoming b and b. Our bed was lovely and we slept really well. The good quality breakfast was very well cooked and beautifully presented.

Tripadvisor: 1 October 2013  My wife and I stayed at Hilden Lodge which was easy to find as it is on the A 40 The owner. The rooms are named after the previous winners of the Cheltenham Gold cup, ours was called Golden Miller. The room was very clean and even had a small patio, which was unexpected. The meals we had were first class and when we go to Cheltenham again we would have no hesitation of staying at Hilden Lodge.

Tripadvisor: 30 September 2013 “Very good choiceWe chose well with Hilden Lodge. The room (+ en-suite) was immaculately clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent, copious and tasty, and all staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

Tripadvisor 17 September 2013 “Very enjoyable stayWe had a very enjoyable stay at Hilden Lodge on our weekend visit to the Cotswolds. Hilden Lodge is within 5 minutes drive of Cheltenham town centre and within easy reach of all the Cotswold beauty spots. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the service was friendly and efficient. Will visit again.

Trip advisor: 4 September 2013 “Exceptionally welcoming B&B+++I have been staying at Hilden through the week for 6 months now and cannot rate the service I have experienced highly enough. Having stayed here for such an extended period I have sampled almost all of the rooms in the place and they have all been very comfortable fitted with a shower or bath room, TV and DVD, tea and coffee facilities and modern decor. The beds are comfy and the room is always made up to a good standard with nice touches such as fresh towels folded into a design on the bed and extra biscuits provided. Despite being on a fairly busy road it is quiet during the night and I haven’t once been disturbed by other guests walking past rooms.  The choice of food for breakfast is lovely.  There is also a decent choice of food in the evening again cooked to a great standard.The Hilden has a relaxed atmosphere and welcomes couples, business people and families. There are car parking facilities out the front, and a fenced off garden and decking area. This makes it the perfect place for families with children or couples/singles looking to have a cold drink at the end of a long day. It is walking distance from town and there are local shops and pubs nearby. It is also on the London Road making it a perfect base from which to explore Cheltenham, the historic Painswick and the Cotswolds. I would definitely recommend making a trip to Hilden Lodge if you are looking for a comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced stay in a location that is much more than your average B&B.

Tripadvisor: 15 July 2013 “Celebration weekend” We booked 3 double rooms to enjoy a weekend away to celebrate my parent’s golden wedding anniversary in the Cheltenham area. The hotel was very clean, beds comfortable and superb breakfasts. We will definitely use the hotel again as it is also in a good location for the town’s amenities without being right in the centre – which could potentially be noisy. All in all a lovely weekend.

Tripadvisor: 1 July 2013 “Quality accommodation” Stayed here whilst walking the Cotswold Way. It’s a bit off the trail but well worth the extra walking distance. The accommodation was first class and the food  of extremely good quality. 

Tripadvisor: 3 June 2013  “Oz” Great place to stay and easy to find. Management extremely helpful and welcoming. Dinner and breakfast very good. The wine selection prices varied and didn’t break the bank cost wise! D,B & B price reasonable and of good value. Double glazing made the room quiet. Would recommend this establishment.

Tripadvisor: 8 May 2013 “Fab stay” We spent 2 days over the early May Bank Holiday weekend and had a great time. The double room although not massive was certainly adequate for our stay and the sun never stopped streaming in through the window. A taxi was organised no problem for a trip into Cheltenham and we borrowed a guide book to do a fab walk on the Sunday . Would definitely stay again as perfect location for touring the Cotswolds and would definitely recommend it.

If these reviews have persuaded you to give us a try please call 01242 583242 or click here to check availability or book.

Where are we

Hilden Lodge is in the suburb of Charlton Kings on the A40 from Oxford. By car/taxi we are 6 minutes from the town centre, 9 minutes from the Railway Station and 13 minutes from the Race Course.  For directions please see our location page.

 

Check availability

Check Availability & Book Online
Date: 
Guests:  [Adults + Children]

Special Offer

We have special offers available most of the time for multiple night stays and early bird booking. For our best offers please book via our website using the special offer codes or call us direct on 01242 583242.